PSI is a charitable organization run by volunteers. We support schools around the world that have made a commitment to creating and maintaining a culture of peace.

Working with school communities – educators, students and parents – Peaceful Schools International provides resources, promotes peer mediation, and encourages schools to develop their own peace plans and activities.

PSI relies on a network of volunteer Regional Coordinators who provide support to schools in their local geographic areas. PSI is governed by a Board of Directors and an Advisory Council.  

PSI’s Board of Directors

The PSI Board of Directors provides input in a variety of ways. The most important role of the Board members is a discussion of future direction, approval of items put forth at the Annual General Meeting, and expert input in decision-making.

Michaela Peters – President

Dr. David Bourgeois – Vice-President 

Associate Professor, Psychology Department, Saint Mary’s University

Matthew Salah – Treasurer
Digital Technology Assistant, Saint Mary’s University 
Kayla Dunphy – Secretary

Northern Ireland Program and SMU Alumni, Saint Mary’s University

Emily Light – Program Coordinator of the N. Ireland Program

Student at Saint Mary’s University

Bridget Brownlow – Board Director

Dr. Rohini Bannerjee – Board Director
Associate Professor in the Department of Modern Languages & Classics, Saint Mary’s University

Colin Gray – Board Director 

Rick Lewis
Training Coordinator, Department of Safe Schools
Dr. Don Naulls
Associate Professor, Political Science Department, Saint Mary’s University
Dr. Hetty van Gurp
Founder, PSI; Part-time Adjunct Faculty, Saint Mary’s University


International Advisory Council

The Honourable Myra A. Freeman (Founding Patron)

General (ret) John de Chastelain, OC, CMM, CD, CH
Chairman of the Independent Commission on Decommissioning
The Irish Peace Process

Dr. Bonnie Weir
Professor, Political Science, Yale University.

Ms. Marie McIntyre

Vice Principal, John Paul II Primary School, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Ms. Ashleigh Galway

Principal, Currie Primary School, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Pilib Misteil – Principal, Bunscoil An tSléibhe Dhuibh, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Jane Gray – Vice Principal, Cliftonville Integrated Primary School, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Ms. Margaret Dunne – Executive Field Representative

Mr. Trevor Greer – Executive Field Representative

PSI Members

Ms. Rosie Bona

Mr. Ali Hamed, Alumni

Deborah Brothers-Scott

Calvin Scott

Raymond Sewell

Pam Glode-Desrochers

Dr. Ashley Carver

Colin Gray (MTRI)

Dr. Hetty van Gurp

Dr. Rohini Bannerjee

Steven Noel

Dr. Peter Gray, Queens University Belfast

Isobel Tyler, SMUSA President

Emily Anderson

Dr. Jeff Power

Dr. Don Naulls

Dr. Esther Enns

Megan McPherson

Yssac Rodriguez

Dr. James Morrison

Dr. Susan Bjornson

Carol Dodds